R.I.P. Ruckus

My favorite free music source curled up and died over the weekend. Ruckus was a free music downloading service that was available to college students. Ruckus usually had what I was looking for, and had a really good selection of  older music like Bowie, Simon and Garfunkel, Paul Simon etc. The catch was the files were WMAs and chock full of DRM meaning it was only possible to put it on your MP3 player that plays WMAs. Since the only people that have these are weirdos and people still living in 1999, Ruckus was seemingly useless. But wait! I found a program to strip the DRM allowing me to add them to iTunes and presto-chango, music is mine. I found this article chronicling the demise of the company, apparently they were having issues long ago.

0 Responses to “R.I.P. Ruckus”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories


